It’s Beginning to look A Lot Like Christmas

Standard

Ahhh as the song says break out the Holly .  As everyone gets ready Christmas.   Lights up outside,  tree with all the ornaments.   My first we’re kept and passed down to me so when additions to our family arrive it’s sure to be on a list.   At 36 my first halmark rocking horse holds a place of honor.   I find my self really missing my dad this time of the year.   Every year after my parents bought this house my dad took great pride in decorating the outside with lights.   For the last several years it was a special memory that we shared.

I would take my regular day off and meet early for breakfast,  then spend the day getting them up.   I climb the ladders , he hands them up and helps with ground level,  and the front porch.   As grown children we all have our own families,  so usually we would be finishing when my mom got home work . She would cook something wonderfully homemade,  my husband would join us,  for a nice quiet evening to admire our hard work. 
I thank God everyday for the time i got with my father before cancer took him from us.  
“No more lives torn apart,  everyone will find a friend,  right will always win.   This is my grown up Christmas wish list”.  It hits home at this time of year .  I was lucky and reminded at my brothers wedding when I watched my brothers wife enjoy her father/daughter dance. 

So as the shopping , decorating and general merry making goes full speed ahead,  make time for the special moments,  yes even adult children should hope to have them while parents and grandparents are still here.   I’ve been working on digital photo disks that the older generations can just pop into a DVD player , and for those who want can get individual prints too.  I look forward to baking with my mom every year it’s one of those special times .  I hope my nieces get to join in the fun.  You can be assured that powdered sugar and flour will dust a lot of surfaces,  and the adults will have “spiked egg juice”.   That’s eggnog according to my four year old niece .  So here’s to family recipe’s,  and Holly,  whatever the tradition share your favorites.   Enjoy every moment for time and those memories are what we take with us always.   In the meantime I know my dad will always live on in our hearts,  and what we pass on will shape them and our world in future years to come.

