Celebrate Mom

Standard

Mom, I have often pondered the question.  Do women ever get tired of hearing that word?  In the cereal aisle at the grocery store? How about the checkout lane with its kid friendly placement of candy? Having lost my opportunity for the pitter-patter of little feet, I can only look in and observe.  Oh sure we have spoiled furr-babies so it’s close but not quite the same. 

 

Charlie the spoiled cat

Mom, is an all encompassing term for guardian,  nurse, chef, taxi, troubleshooter, mediator, personal assistant, house keeper, tutor, and the list goes on.  Today most moms help provide an income for the family.  Or in some cases the only income.  When we look back our mom gladly shouldered these responsibilities.  My mom added full time teacher, as we were home schooled.  

As a result we grew up owing her much more than we can ever repay.  This Mothers Day we celebrate her!  Looking in I have learned that no matter how tired or stressed, being a mom is a commitment that never ends.  Somehow they find the patience to deal with it 24/ 7.  As I have grown to adulthood I know there will come a time where my mom, my best friend, confidante, will not e here.  This year amid the hustle and bustle of life remember to say Thank you to the woman who gave you so much.  As I saw on social media be patient when answering the same technology questions, over and over,  after all she taught you potty training and how to add a spoon.

So when you are considering a gift for mom I try to remember how much she has given me.  While I would love to give her the world, I’m going to have to be practicable.  In my family, I’m giving a Mothers Day brunch to celebrate these brave women who have taken on the challenge by being a Grandma, and Mom.    

I’ve gathered some of my favorite recipes here.  As for a gift flowers and balloons are a big yes.  I also want a more meaningful gift, personalized.  Something that says because of you I’ve learned respect, love, responsibility, patience, kindness, I know faith and I have grown to be the woman I am today.  As I tell my husband I could ask for nothing better as I am almost perfect… and always perfectly me.

I thought you’d like this Board on Pinterest… http://pin.it/kKQCAwL

What are you doing to celebrate Mom?

Leave a Reply

