NATIONAL VICHYSSOISE DAY

November 18th recognizes a cold soup that is loved by many. It is National Vichyssoise Day.

Made thick with pureed leeks, onions, potatoes, cream and chicken stock, Vichyssoise is traditionally served cold though sometimes is eaten hot.

In the United States, Vichyssoise is pronounced: vish – e – swaz.

Culinary historians debate the origin of Vichyssoise. However, the man most credited with the reinvention of the soup is French chef Louis Diat. Back in 1950, New Yorker Magazine interviewed Diat, who was the chef at the Ritz Carlton in New York City; he told them:

“In the summer of 1917, when I had been at the Ritz seven years, I reflected upon the potato and leek soup of my childhood which my mother and grandmother used to make. I recalled how during the summer my older brother and I used to cool it off by pouring in cold milk and how delicious it was. I resolved to make something of the sort for the patrons of the Ritz.”

Recipes have been found for soup very similar to Vichyssoise but served hot dating back as far as 1869.

HOW TO OBSERVE #NationalVichyssoiseDay

Enjoy this Vichyssoise recipe.

Use #NationalVichyssoiseDay to post on social media.

4 thoughts on “NATIONAL VICHYSSOISE DAY

Leave a Reply